Board Members

STF Board of Directors

The STF Board of Directors has thirteen members. Each member is elected at the AGM by the membership for a period of three years. A third of the board is required to seek re-election each year. Directors are nominated by member organisations and are responsible for providing strategic direction for STF.

Office Bearers

Elections for Office Bearer positions are undertaken annually. Directors with more than 12 months service may put themselves forward for any position.

Ian McCulloch (Chair), Chief Executive, ITC Academy
Lorna Trainer (Vice Chair – Employability), Director, L&G Learning (Scotland) Ltd
Maria Roushias, (Joint Vice Chair – Apprenticeships), Chair, Colleges Workbased Learning Group
Peter Leitch (Joint Vice Chair – Apprenticeships), Scotland/Wales Director, Remit Training
Grant Thoms, (Vice Chair – Membership & Events)


Stuart Leitch, Managing Director, MI Technologies
Jennifer McEwan, Head of L&D, Genius People
Caroline McFarlane, Director, Limelight Careers
Scott McCrae, Managing Director, McCrae Training Ltd
David Hanley, Director, Competence Matters
Louise Findlay, Regional Operations Director, YouTrain, A Division of GP Strategies Ltd
Maureen McCann, Director, The Tell Organisation Ltd
Arlene Callan, Head of Operations, Financial Services, PeoplePlus
Stuart McKenna
, Chief Executive, STF

Co-opted members

Co-opted members are appointed by Directors for an indefinite period to provide specific expertise to the board. Because they have not been elected by the membership, they do not have a vote at board meetings.

Julie Cavanagh, Head of Partnerships and Communication, SCQF Partnership
Lesley Lowrie, Managing Director, GOSTA Training
Chris Sutherland, Director, Rathbone

Board meeting dates 2019

January:        Wednesday 16 January 2019           City & Guilds Scotland, Glasgow
March:            Wednesday 13 March 2019              City & Guilds Scotland, Glasgow
May:                Wednesday 15 May 2019                 tbc
August:           Wednesday 14 August 2019            tbc
September:     Wednesday 11 September 2019     tbc
November:      Wednesday 20 November 2019      tbc